What are my chances? Need some hope.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pseudonym123

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently doing a Master's of Arts in Biological Sciences program in Philadelphia, PA that is geared to help people boost their GPA. In my undergraduate years, I graduated with a 2.895 GPA in New Jersey while 1) interning at a hospital, 2) working as an emergency services volunteer, 3) working as a babysitter to a doctor, and finally 4) working with mentally disabled individuals. I was also able to be a part of the Northeast Regional Med prep alliance program specific for individuals who want to go to medical school. I dedicated two summers until my GPA went down a bit to a 2.895.

Where I am now though: Doing my Masters of Arts in Biological Science, doing microbiological related research with a professor, and teaching science to young kids in impoverished areas. I know I need to do the MCAT but I am so terrified of it. I don't know where to start. I am finding all of it overwhelming..If anyone has a blog or anything highlighting what you did to get into medical school and how you studied, I would like to see it because I need some guidance..

What would I need to get into medical school? Should I even consider it? What about DO or physician assistant if all else fails? I just need an opinion of what to do if I happen to do exceptionally well this year in my masters program..

What should I apply to after my Master's?

This is an overview of my grades in the required courses for medical school:

Biology 1: B-

Biology Lab 1: B-

Biology 2: A

Biology Lab 2: B-

Chemistry 1: A

Chemistry Lab 1: A-

Chemistry 2: B-

Chemistry Lab 2: B-

Organic chemistry 1: C

Organic chemistry 1 lab: B

Organic chemistry 2: C

Organic chemistry 2 lab: B-

Physics 1: C-

Physics Lab 1: A

Physics 2: C

Physics Lab 2: A-

Calculus: B

English: A

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: