What could I expect when exiting a surgical residency and fellowship in my late 40s?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Test Profile

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I begin medical school in a couple months, and I am beginning to think about surgical specialties, so I can get on board with relevant research projects during my preclinical years. I have a couple years of experience working in the emergency department of a trauma center, and I am very interested in trauma--in fact, my interest in trauma is a driving force behind my mid-30s career change. Right now, I am most interested in trauma surgery, but I can also envision pursuing orthopedic surgery.

There is research suggesting correlations between age and a variety of other metrics, such as work hours, work/home conflict, and quality of life (Distress and career satisfaction among 14 surgical specialties, comparing academic and private practice settings. - PubMed - NCBI). However, in this dataset, surgeon age is tightly related to years of practice, and that makes it hard for me to guess what my life might look like when I finish surgical residency and fellowship in my late 40s. For example, what kind of work schedule might I expect? How might that change in the subsequent decade? This kind of information would help me discuss reasonable expectations with family, etc.

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

You will face difficulties getting a job

You will face difficulties getting a job