This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

devontrann

Reaction score
I'm currently a student in high school and as the fall season comes up I'm currently deciding on what major to choose as I plan to take the pre-dental route once in college. I'm currently stuck between human biology and public health as many students choose biology, but I believe that choosing public health may make me stand out as an applicant. Do y'all have any suggestions or tips on what I should major in?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm currently a student in high school and as the fall season comes up I'm currently deciding on what major to choose as I plan to take the pre-dental route once in college. I'm currently stuck between human biology and public health as many students choose biology, but I believe that choosing public health may make me stand out as an applicant. Do y'all have any suggestions or tips on what I should major in?
major in what you are passionate about and can get good grades in...

Your major doesn't matter and won't help you stand out. Pick whatever you will do well in, and make sure you're able to take all the pre-reqs needed for dental school that may not be required for your major.

That being said, you might have a bit of an easier time in dental school if you pick a science major and take a lot of the hard, upper divs required for it, since you'll have seen the material once before, versus seeing everything for the first time in dental school as you balance a billion classes and work on your hand skills.

Members don't see this ad :)
major in what you are passionate about