This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rose99924@

Reaction score
Hello,
I just graduated from college and I’m too late for all of this. I have a couple of ECs, shadowing but that was virtually because of the pandemic, one research opportunity (not relate to humans per se) one leadership role, TA for science classes over a semester; not enough . I’m working right now part time in a new job which is my first job by the way and I’m trying to study for the MCAT which Im registered to take in April and I think I might push it back as I feel like I’m not ready but I will see how I am in February. I have zero clinical experience and my gpa is 3.8. Honestly, I shouldn’t even think about applying this cycle, besides not having anything I’m really struggling with my mental health. But I don’t know how to fix any of this. My job for now is letting me have time to study but at the same time I won’t have any clinical hours if I stay there.
I’m not sure if I should just study, take the MCAT, wait until I have a year in the job but that would be around July, then find another job that I can gain clinic hours. I can also try to get a certification for EMT while I’m working.
Take this year, build the aspects of my application. Then apply for the 2025 cycle.
What do you guys think? I’m really demotivated right now, it just feel like I’m never going to do it.

Members don't see this ad.

1) Get your mental health in order first. Med school is a furnace and can break even healthy students.
2) Volunteer or work in a clinical setting.
3) Use that to find a doctor(s) to shadow. Scribing combines both 2 and 3.
4) Engage in service to others less fortunate than yourself in a nonclinical venue.
Take the MCAT only when you're 100% ready.
Don't bother with the EMT cert unless you're planning on using it.

Reactions: 6 users