This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rivers322

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I'm anticipating having to reapply the next cycle and I would greatly appreciate advice on a school list (I'm so overwhelmed by all the factors). I graduated from a decent state school (2019) and already took a gap year before applying the first time (2020), so I'll have taken 2 gap years before applying the second time. 2IIs and 2WLs listed below, preII Rs or ghosted from rest.

My previous application (with things that will change when reapplying in bold):
-cGPA: 3.70, sGPA 3.65 (Bio BS, Spanish for the Health Professions minor, chem minor, 3 years)
-MCAT: (511) 127/129/125/130, 515 (129/128/130/128)
-ORM (white but middle eastern), female

-PAID CLINICAL EXPERIENCE:
  • 153 hrs, expected 800 more prior to matriculation- Emergency room scribe (actual total is 200 - had to move across the country back home due to covid)
  • 900 hrs- HemOnc (breast ca) scribe 900 by the time I apply, I work about 120 hrs month so expect additional 1440 hours between app and matriculation
  • covid vax clinic- 50 hours before applying, clerical work and may group with scribe because same company
-RESEARCH: (most meaningful)
  • 600 hrs over 2 years, translational research through burn center of hospital (I have more research from previous years but didn't feel significant enough to mention)
  • publications- (3rd auth in abstract published in Jo of Immunology/same abstract in the American College of Surgeons as second author, forgot to mention this last year lol. I also have my name on a oral presentation and poster second auth in one idk if that's worth listing)
-LEADERSHIP: (most meaningful) (also non clinical volunteering but leadership felt more significant?)