3rd Year Engineering Chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrBioEngineer

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am currently in my 3rd year of undergrad studying Biomedical Engineering at Ohio State University. I plan on graduating in 5 years (due to engineering being packed as it is & having to fit in pre-med classes). I Currently have a 2.9 but am going to get a projected 3.7 this semester. I did very bad in some classes my freshman & sophomore year due to anxiety problems(I had to take medicine for it) & just not really knowing how to study effectively or the right way that works best for me. This semester I have figured it out and will most likely be getting a 3.7 with 18 hours of very rigorous pre-med & engineering classes. I feel like now that I have conquered my own anxiety problems & discovered how I study best I could average about a 3.7 per semester for the next 2.5 years. I only need to take o chem labs and anatomy to finish my pre-med pre reqs.

I calculated my GPA if I can accomplish this and when I graduate (end of 5th year) I would have a 3.38 & when I would actually apply for medical school (end of 4th year) I would have a 3.22. I have gotten some some C's & a D that I am not proud of at all, but they weren't pre-med classes. (Do you think I should re-take any classes??) If I only get mostly A's and some B's for the next couple years will medical school admission committees like that I finished with an upward trend and improved my GPA? I know some med schools don't care about your major & don't give harder ones that much weight, but will the fact that I took one of the hardest curriculums(Engineering) in undergrad be taken into account when they see my GPA? I am planning on studying for the MCAT this upcoming summer and then taking it the following spring & hopefully doing really well since I've heard engineers generally do very well on the MCAT.