Kipani

KU c/o 2023
7+ Year Member
Dec 5, 2009
Kansas
Status
Medical Student (Accepted)
Hi all,

Longtime stalker, first time poster... Reading this forum has been so helpful, inspiring and encouraging! That must sound weird from someone who hasn't posted before. Regardless, you guys are great.

Soo in my long and slow poking of A&M to determine a few answers questions about their prereq requirements and how they translate to my undergrad work, I've come up with a few more questions that are driving me crazy. Hopefully someone here can help! For reference, I'm a CSU undergrad who is a resident of Texas.

Does A&M have a GPA cut offs for their prereqs? Let's just say that Ochem was not kind to me and my stats prof believed in being a minus giving, scholarship-costing jerk to everyone he could on his way out. All in all, I have a fair few outstanding prereqs for A&M (physics I + II, Speech, Gen Animal Science, 1 credit of Biochem)... and consequently, prereqGPA is not the rainbows and sunshine I wish it was.

Also, does A&M replace courses you repeat or average the grades? I'm retaking Genetics this summer because for some circumstances beyond my control and partially on the fault of my timidness with asking the professor directly (instead of the english as a second language GTA) for help, I ended up with a C. So I'm repeating it for myself mainly, but I'm also trying to figure out how all of the places I plan to apply will look at it.

Sorry for being long winded. Like I mentioned, replies are coming slowly from them right now and I have a tendency to worry myself to pieces over things. Thanks for anything you can do to put my mind at ease! :)

Vet Engineer

Texas A&M CVM c/o 2014!!!
Feb 21, 2010
Dallas, TX
Status
Veterinary Student
As long as you have a C in a class, they will accept it. When A&M calculates your GPA, they don't use + or - (made me very happy because I had LOTS of A-). So I don't think it would matter if you had a C or C-.