A Premed's choice: CC When to transfer? What is okay to do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Davidgomez0100

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Student Doctor Network,

This is my first post. Currently, I am a freshman at a local CC. I plan to stay at my CC to finish all my medical prereq's while pursuing a major in English/Literature.
Then, transfer to a 4-year institute where I will take biochemistry, and The Organic Sequences while finishing my English Degree.
All in all my plan is to do 5 years (total) Undergrad to Accomplish both of these goals.
I hope to apply my 4th year and have everything ready to matriculate after my undergrad into Medical School(hopefully)

My question is will it be looked down upon that I choose to stay a 3rd year to finish all my prerequisite courses? Will taking them all at a CC be a bad idea?
I've noticed a strong duality when this question is asked in many posts. I'd like insight into my situation.
I've spoken with my Chemistry professor and the conversation surmounted to "It doesn't matter where you come from, what matters is graduating both places with as close to a 4.0 as possible and having a great MCAT with extracurriculars."

What do you all think?

Any help is appreciated.
With Thanks,
D.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hello Student Doctor Network,

This is my first post. Currently, I am a freshman at a local CC. I plan to stay at my CC to finish all my medical prereq's while pursuing a major in English/Literature.
Then, transfer to a 2-year institute where I will take biochemistry (and maybe anatomy) while finishing my English Degree.
All in all my plan is to do 5 years (total) Undergrad to Accomplish both of these goals.
I hope to apply my 4th year and have everything ready to matriculate after my undergrad into Medical School(hopefully!!!! I pray!!)