Advice in Pursuing Medicine (Engineering Background)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mcendoc95

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I graduated with a BS in Mechanical engineering and a minor in Biomedical engineering. I did finish the prerequisites for medical school, however I graduated with a 3.2 GPA. Low for medical school standards. I was unsure of applying for medical school during my undergraduate years, but I became motivated to become a doctor while in the military. I am currently serving my time as a military officer and was able to find some shadowing opportunities.

My questions are:

1. If I were to retake classes, do I need to declare a new major?
2. Is it better to go to graduate school first and get a high GPA?
3. How can I become a more competitive and diverse applicant with such a low GPA?

I would love any advice and possibly stories if you were in similar situations. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

First, thank you for your service!

To answer your questions:
1. No, you can be a non-degree seeking graduate student and enroll in any undergraduate course.
2. No, unless you have an excessive amount of science hours and it would be next to impossible to see any marked improvement in your GPA.
3. Increase your GPA and slay the MCAT. Extracurricular are important, but your scores are the absolute most important component of your application.

Few questions for you:
1. How many science hours do you have?
2. Have you received a D (or lower) in any of your science courses, and more specifically, any of the pre-requisite courses?
3. Outside of shadowing, what do your other ECs look like?

Reactions: 1 user
First, thank you for your service!

To answer your questions:
1. No, you can be a non-degree seeking graduate student and enroll in any undergraduate course.