This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

smz1234

Reaction score
Hey all!

First post here! I'm a career-changing/non-trad applicant. I graduated 2 years ago with a business degree and have since realized - through volunteering and shadowing - that medicine is the field I want to be in. I was working at a marketing firm and taking night classes until a couple months ago, when I finally took the leap to go back to school full time and finish pre-req's.

Over this summer, I took an EMT course and loved it. I applied to a couple jobs afterward, and was offered one, but only if I worked full time. There's 4 ambulance companies that service the general area I live in, and the company I had an offer from was the only one that let's new EMTs start part-time. I turned the offer down because a full time/rotating schedule would make taking classes hard (and as far as a med school app is concerned - emt experience is less essential than doing well in pre-req's)

I'm realizing now though, that my chances of finding a part time EMT gig for PT contact during post bacc are looking slim. I'd love to work as an ER tech and saw a few part time slots open, so I have been applying to those. I've heard though, that ER tech jobs expect a couple years of experience, which I don't have as a new grad.

I'm considering taking a CNA and/or phlebotomy class. I don't want to spend too much money on certs, but both phlebotomy and CNA are quick and not too expensive. It seems like there's a lot of jobs open for CNAs, and many are part time.

Which brings me to my questions:
- how stupid is it to not use my EMT cert? especially since I liked the class and ride-alongs a lot.
- is the best route to take a CNA and/or phlebotomy class?
- how likely am I to get a part time, hospital based job with a CNA and no experience?
- ^same question for phlebotomy
- any other ideas?