This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lyoness

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have to take the mcat spring of 2018, so I am studying very early. If I buy the practice exams of the AAMC 1&2 right now, will they have the same questions as the practice exams that will be sold next year or will they be a different version? I am asking because if they are different versions then that means it's more practice for me so I'll buy em now and the ones for next year! Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

It's the same test.

AAMC should be the last materials you use to practice within 1 - 2 months of your actual exam.

Reactions: 1 user
I have to take the mcat spring of 2018, so I am studying very early. If I buy the practice exams of the AAMC 1&2 right now, will they have the same questions as the practice exams that will be sold next year or will they be a different version? I am asking because if they are different versions then that means it's more practice for me so I'll buy em now and the ones for next year! Thanks!
Excellent question. Let me answer it with a timeline.

The official guide to the MCAT, 4th edition, was released in anticipation for the brand new 2015 Exams. It represents the oldest preparation for the new exam. The questions on here are extremely easy compared to the current administrations of the new MCAT. This item is available through both the paperback book (linked above), or digitally.

The next item released, soon after the official guide to the MCAT, was the AAMC Sample Test, aka, the unscored FL. This exam was, I believe, released in November 2014, to help students get a firm grasp on the new, painfully long exam, that would premier in January 2015. This exam is also, quite easy compared to the current administrations of the MCAT.