This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sasukeuchiha33

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all! So, I am a freshman about to finish my first year of college. I know for medical school, it is standard that one have two rec letters from a science professor, and one from a non-science professor, as a minimum. I have developed a very close and personal relationship with my English professor, (got an A last semester and will likely get an A this semester as well) and want to ask her. The only issue is, she is leaving to go another school at the end of this year. I am afraid that if I contact her 2 years down the line, she will not remember me as well and thus will write me a weaker recommendation than if I ask her now. So, I guess I have two questions.

1) Is this a good idea? Will medical schools perceive it negatively if I have a rec letter from as early as my freshman year?
2) How would I go about doing this? Would I create my AMCAS application now and have her upload it there, or should I do something else?

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi all! So, I am a freshman about to finish my first year of college. I know for medical school, it is standard that one have two rec letters from a science professor, and one from a non-science professor, as a minimum. I have developed a very close and personal relationship with my English professor, (got an A last semester and will likely get an A this semester as well) and want to ask her. The only issue is, she is leaving to go another school at the end of this year. I am afraid that if I contact her 2 years down the line, she will not remember me as well and thus will write me a weaker recommendation than if I ask her now. So, I guess I have two questions.

1) Is this a good idea? Will medical schools perceive it negatively if I have a rec letter from as early as my freshman year?