bad interview skills

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lisochka

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I applied to three pharm schools. Got interviews in all three.
Interviewed in two and completely screw it up....Did not get in in both schools.
To prepare for the interviews I researched interview feedback on this forum. Wrote all the answers to the questions. Tried to be myself.
I think my asnwers weren't mature, I don't know. On the first interview i said I was a bad time manager. I knew it was one of the bad "tabu" answers, and I have no idea how it slipped of my tongue:(
The second interview I was 2 minutes late (got lost in town, even though the day before I had gone to the school and researched the rout....) and smiled too much....I think..... So, they got an impression as I was immature or not taking them seriously...I don't know...
I have the last interview coming soon....
Can you guys help? I really do not want to screw it up! :(
I don't know what is going on with me. I never thought I was bad at interviews...I would always get a job if I interviewed for a job.... What is going on?

Members don't see this ad.

can you advice a good book on interviewing skills for a health care field may be? Or medical field schools?

Well, it sounds like you are at least trying to prepare for your interviews and that is a good thing! Maybe you are just getting too nervous and that is affecting your performance?
One thing I have noticed is that when people over-prepare their answers, they may come across as stilted and not very natural. I guess you want to be well-prepared, but don't sound like you are regurgitating a memorized script or anything.