This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mpa19

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm studying to retake the MCAT in January. The first time I took the MCAT I used Kaplan and some AAMC materials. Right now, I'm using Examkrackers and Princeton Review books. I was considering taking an online course, but a lot of people on here are saying it's not worth it. I feel like you would get some test taking tricks with a course. Any of you who have taken a course, what course did you take and what was your experience with it? Do you think it was helpful? Do you think it would be more helpful to get another book set and just self study?

Members don't see this ad.

I chose not to take a course and instead spent that money on the best passage-based books available, all the good commercial FLs I could get, and all of the AAMC material. For science practice, nothing beats TBR. Get their biology, chemistry, organic and physics books. For CARS, EK and TPR are both very good. Get both. For P/S I think anything will work. The 300 page review packet is a must. Definitely buy everything AAMC releases. When you're ready, get FL packages from EK, Altius, and TBR. Whatever you don't use in an actual FL practice sitting do for homework. All that material is still about half of what it costs for a prep course.

Reactions: 1 user
I personally didn't take a course and spent my money on Kaplan books and some AAMC materials (like the flashcards and FLs) instead. If you don't mind me asking, what did you score on the first test? What is your target score? Why are you choosing materials from an alternate source instead of using Kaplan again?