Best Medical Journal to Consume?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HealthNombreUno

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all!
I am currently a pre-med student and like to read research articles and general topics in medicine often. Since I am not a professional and do not fully understand medical jargon quite yet, what would be the best journal for me to subscribe to and consume for my own personal interests?

Members don't see this ad.

I think Nature has pretty soft, tasty pages. I would consider consuming that.

On a possibly more related note, I would sign up for newsletters from the ACP/JAMA/APA or whatever specialty areas you're interested in. These newsletters tend to have links to 'hot' topics and interesting studies that are mostly relevant to what's going on in medicine. I think most of these should be available to undergrad students.

Reactions: 1 user
I do not recommend consuming any medical journals, as the paper isn't the best for your digestive tract and the ink may be toxic.

Seriously though, JAMA is probably a decent place to start as it's a weekly (bi-weekly?) journal that covers a variety of fields and also aspects of medicine beyond just clinical stuff (policy, finances, ethics, etc.). If you want something that's going to be more clinical and actual medical school/professional level, NEJM is probably a better choice. Whatever you read, you'll probably have to do some independent learning (like we all do) when you come across a drug or term you're not familiar with. That's part of medicine though, you should never stop learning. Just getting yourself into reading medical literature at all before med school will be helpful though, so good for you.

Edit: I'd also think your undergrad would probably have access to NEJM and possibly JAMA for free as well. So there's be a minimal financial investment on your part.

Reactions: 3 users
Members don't see this ad :)