This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

student-of-life

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a student interested in the blend of CCM and Anesthesia. I'm hoping some attendings can shed light on:

Scheduling
- My impression is that one will generally do one week in the ICU and then 3 weeks in the OR. However, I'm also under the impression that pure CCM attendings generally have a week off after 7 days in the ICU, so am wondering if it is / why it's not 1 week ICU, 1 week off, 2 weeks OR. I'm also wondering what your rough vacation policy is in terms of weeks off. Overall, I like to play hard and work hard; I appreciate the intensity of these specialties but I also want adequate time to enjoy hobbies, spend time with family, and travel. Ideally, I'm looking to avoid a traditional M-F schedule; I'm hoping to get some good stretches of days off and am happy to work some nights and weekends to make it happen (though I would like to avoid the constant fluctuation of days/nights that seems to be the case in emergency medicine).

Patient continuity in CCM to complement the lack of it in Anesthesia
- In CCM, do you have a reasonable patient load that allows you to build relationships with patient families? Are you able to work with (more or less) this same patient cohort through the week/until they leave the unit and monitor longitudinal changes, or are you more bouncing around doing procedures and consults for midlevel providers and not working with an intimate caseload?

Sustainability