Chance me for Duke-NUS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bvan95

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm a Vietnamese student with a US-bachelor degree. I'm really interested in going to Duke-NUS but am not sure of my competitiveness. If you can, please help chance me!
1.cGPA: 3.80, sGPA:3.69
2.MCAT: 516, C/P: 128, CARS: 130, B/C:129,S/P:129
3. Vietnamese citizen, no US green-card/citizenship
4. Asian
5. Messiah College, Nutrition Major w/ Biology and Chemistry double minor
6. Clinical Experiences:
-ER Medical Scribe x 1 year (U.S hospital)
-Hospital Volunteer x 1 year (at 2 Vietnamese tertiary hospitals)
-Research Intern x 6 mos for an oncologist (Vietnam)
7. Research Experiences:
-Undergraduate research x 1 year, Honors Senior Thesis, poster+presentation at school symposiums
-Independent research project with an oncologist on assessing the nutritional status of cancer patients x 6 mos
-Research Intern for a clinical research unit based in Hanoi on antibiotics overuse x 6 mos
8. Shadowing:
-Pediatrics, Family medicine, Internal Medicine, Medical Oncology, Cardiology, General Orthopedics Surgery
9. Non-clinical volunteering:
-Undergraduate volunteer for different food banks, soup kitchens; 2 service trips ( about 180 hours)
-Service Leader for 2 international service trips in Siem Reap, Cambodia (160 hrs)
-Volunteer for a center for kids with IDD based in Hanoi (180 hrs, projected)
10. Others:
-Nutrition Club Executive Member, Resident Assistant, Catering Student Leader, Organic Chem Lab Assistant, International/Multicultural Peer Advisor (Undergraduate)
-ESL teacher (Gap-year)
-German (A1)and Chinese learner (HSK-1) (Gap-year)
11. Honors/awards: Dean's List, College Honors, Recipient of a summer research grant at school, Participant of Primary Care Scholars Program (by Penn State College of medicine)

Members don't see this ad.