Classes to improve GPA vs. Extracurriculars

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bif

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just have questions about my GPA situation. Before I ask, I will give some information about my stats. My total GPA is 3.6+ and my science is a 3.48. My MCAT score is 526. I studied really hard for the MCAT and thought that my score opened some doors for me to apply to medical school, but my science GPA is causing me to worry a bit. I heard that many schools have a science GPA cutoff at 3.50. Is this bar true? I understand that my science GPA is not far from a 3.50, but being so close to this supposed cutoff is making me a bit worried. Should I spend my time taking classes to improve this GPA or should I do more extracurriculars?

Members don't see this ad.

I just have questions about my GPA situation. Before I ask, I will give some information about my stats. My total GPA is 3.6+ and my science is a 3.48. My MCAT score is 526. I studied really hard for the MCAT and thought that my score opened some doors for me to apply to medical school, but my science GPA is causing me to worry a bit. I heard that many schools have a science GPA cutoff at 3.50. Is this bar true? I understand that my science GPA is not far from a 3.50, but being so close to this supposed cutoff is making me a bit worried. Should I spend my time taking classes to improve this GPA or should I do more extracurriculars?

From my understanding the cut offs are based of GPA+MCAT not just one of them. But you are so close to the 3.5 science of I were you I would take just an extra class or two and that should be enough to bring it to a 3.5 , you need to have strong extracurricular a for top schools if that is what your aiming for.