This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MountainTops

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a rising Junior and I have realized I have NO clinical experience whatsoever. While yes COVID affected me from Spring of Freshman year to this date and medical schools might be understanding, I believe I owe it to myself to be hands-on in a clinical environment which shows me what I love and know I enjoy from having shadowed doctors.

What I would say is I'm not sure what clinical experience opportunities there are. I know a typical one is a scribe, but as a student who is full time, out-of-state being that my transport at college is limited as well as does anywhere from 15-20 credits per semester, 10hrs of research a week and other extra curricular activities, and knowing that scribes work anywhere from 20-30hrs a week I'm not sure if I could practically do that during the academic year. Does anyone know of any other clinical experience opportunities and how I may come across them or get involved in them?

Members don't see this ad.

It looks like clinical volunteering is what's going to be best for you. Reach out to local hospitals, clinics, hospices, etc, and see if you are able to volunteer 4 hours per week. Just make sure the position is working with patients, which could be playing with kids at a children's hospital, talking with hospice patients, or coordinating care at a free clinic.

Reactions: 1 users
Hi, I'm a rising Junior and I have realized I have NO clinical experience whatsoever. While yes COVID affected me from Spring of Freshman year to this date and medical schools might be understanding, I believe I owe it to myself to be hands-on in a clinical environment which shows me what I love and know I enjoy from having shadowed doctors.