This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cooper1441

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I received my usmle score today and am blown away with disappointment. I am an third year medical student.
I was okay with my comlex score, however, before taking USMLE I was scoring at a 250 on NBMEs, with my baseline being a 230. I scored a 252 on NBME 18 a week before step. I had an 80% average on Uworld the week prior to taking the exam so I went ahead and took it. very shocked.

My main question is how this will affect me and what to do from here? I have heard conflicting advice in that 1. either USMLE can make or break you and completely discredit a good comlex score 2. that as long as you do well on comlex, residency programs are just looking for you to pass USMLE as they understand the differences in curriculum. Who knows what the merger will do for this and I am aware that some of this is program specific.

Ideally, I would have liked to do well on both exams, however, I do not know how to interpret this with two stark differences in scores.

I have a 3.98 GPA, am very involved on campus with presidency positions, and am currently involved in 3 research projects (surgery and OBGYN specific). I studied for 1+ years for both exams.

I do not have one specific specialty in mind, however, I do enjoy neuro and OBGYN the most. Have I totally shot myself in the foot?

please shoot me straight as this is not about emotions but business! thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
You will be fine for OB or neuro. See charting outcomes

Reactions: 2 users
I got a 654 and a 216, ended up with 8 interviews for OB in both matches, felt like I had my pick of wherever I wanted to go tbh. I also was very similar to you in school. Top ten, multiple leadership roles, great letters. You’ll be fine.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)