Confusing Johns Hopkins Secondary?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kreno

Candy Man
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
In the "other experiences and interests" section.... the directions say "List your major unpaid extracurricular activities, hobbies, interests, and travel following entrance to college, and indicate your degree of involvement"; however, there isn't anywhere to put your degree of involvement.

Also, your space allocation is so limited it's hard to put just about anything.

Also, it says list your "Activity" andthen "Position." So, like... where do you put the organization name? For example, I worked as an EMT. So, what do I put? Activity: EMT? Position? Worker? it's just stupid.

help!

Members don't see this ad.

I wouldn't worry too much about it, since it's redundant anyway--all that info is on your AMCAS. God knows why they ask again and again, unless it's that classic interrogation technique of asking repeatedly until you slip up.

Just try to get as much info as possible into whatever space they give you. I would say EMT was your position, so find something else for activity, like Paid (or volunteer) emergency service. Do not take the attitude that these applications are stupid. Be creative and use the spaces they give you to sell yourself! And don't blow off any question because you already answered it on AMCAS. You never know what some adcom member will read or not read.

Members don't see this ad :)
I wasn't saying you shouldn't use the space to its fullest potential, but just not to stress about whether it asks all the questions you want. If you feel things weren't addressed, just send it in a separate attachment.

Re: Don't take the attitude that these applications are stupid.