This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dinucleotidecarl

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. This is a long one, so there's a TL;DR below.

I graduated college in 2017 and have worked in both health care (scribe/scribe trainer, CMA) and elsewhere (Fulbright, teaching abroad) since graduation. Texas resident. I took all my prereqs in college and got a Pre-Health Professions Certificate from my university. My degree is in French and minor in Portuguese. I had one meeting with a pre-med advisor, and she was incredibly discouraging, so I then tried to take everything on myself which led to a lot of misinformed decisions on my part (for example, I actually excelled in my biology classes and my BCPM GPA would likely be higher if I took more bio classes, but instead my BCPM GPA is majority chem/physics/math and just a little bit of bio). I was affected by a lot of personal issues in my junior and senior year of college (severe, though temporary, injuries resulting in having to register as disabled, parent almost dying and in ICU for ~1 month) and have a bit of a downward trend. I worked 25-30 hrs/week throughout college to make ends meet. I qualify as URM (hispanic, indigenous) and disadvantaged (family got government assistance for my lunches, etc.). My last MCAT was 505 in September 2020 but I retook on 5/1 and felt much better leaving that exam. I believe my application is strong except for my GPA. My cGPA is 3.34 and BCPM GPA is probably somewhere around 3 (I'm going to calculate it today but it consists of mostly Bs and Cs, and one D+ in physics, so I'm anticipating that it's really much lower than I remembered). I have an incredibly strong letter of evaluation from the doctor I'be worked with over the past few years who served as an ADCOM at a T10 school. I also believe my other rec letters are strong, from both college professors and the PhD in charge of the lab I worked in in college.