This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Coffeelover7502

Reaction score
Hello All,
I am currently in my first semester at LECOM. I have been having a really terrible experience here. The curriculum is terrible with ridiculous scheduling for exams. In addition, their PBL program is practically set out to make a good amount of students fail and end up in their master's program. Long story short, I really don't think I can reach my full potential at this school. I realized now that I to be able to match into more competitive specialities and I would not be able to do it at this school. I am considering dropping out since it is only my first semester here and attempting to reapply somewhere closer to home. I also want to be able to match residency closer to home and realized it would more difficult if I stay at LECOM. I was wondering if anyone has been in a similar situation or if anyone has any advice about what I should do. I was an early acceptance student at LECOM so I did not go through the medical school application process or take the MCAT. My GPA in undergrad was very high and I had a decent amount of research, volunteering, etc. and would need to just go back home and take the MCAT and build a good application. Would dropping out make it impossible for me to get accepted to a school closer to home? I am not sure if I am even in the medical school system since I never had to apply to LECOM through AMCAS or AACOMAS nor did I take the MCAT. Wouldn't it practically be like me applying as a brand new applicant? Advice would be greatly appreciated!!

Members don't see this ad.

So what you're saying... is you want to quit medical school. Study for the mcat. And then reapply to medical school. And hopefully get in after doing this?