Elementary school teacher preparing for Pharm school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EdPharm10

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I am an elementary school teacher and I am interested (always have been) in pursuing pharmacy. I have decided to take the pre-pharm required courses part time while I work this year and next to prepare for admission in Fall 2010 or 2011 (depending how long it takes to complete pre-reqs). As a teacher with a BA and MA I have many humanities and social science courses and even a couple science courses (physics and biology). As I do not know where I will be living in 2010 (my husband will be applying for a medical fellowship program which is a MATCH system so we have no way of knowing) I do not know which program I should research for pharmD pre-reqs. My first question:
1) What courses should I take and would be required and helpful to me no matter where I end up? ( I really have no science background at all- always wished I did and so am now fixing that)
2) Does it matter where I take my pre-req courses? Can I do them at a community college or no-name university? I live in a small town where my husband is doing his residency so my options as to where to take courses are limited!
3) What are the career options as a pharmacist? I want to be sure it is for me, although I am VERY intrigued by it and want desperately to enter the health care profession.

I would like to point out that I intend to attend a top pharmacy program in 2010 and I value taking courses at a top tier university. As I am in central PA, my options as to where to take my pre-req classes part time are limited...
What are some things I can do to improve my chances in admission as well as my understanding of the field? As a teacher I have summers off and can work or intern at this time. MANY THANKS!
-confused, don't know where to start :confused:

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,