Finish Prereqs or do a Career Changer Post Bac?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dr. Jwa

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
~

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I'm a sophomore majoring in Public Health. This year I realized that I wanted to attend medical school. I've taken 1 semester of Biology and 1 semester of General Chemistry and I took a medical withdrawal from the 2nd semester of Gen Chemistry.

Right now, I have a major decision to make. I'm learning towards just taking humanities classes and where I would graduate with high ~3.7 then I will apply to career changer post bacs. Or should I try to retake General Chemistry and try to take the summers to finish my perquisites in time where I'm most likely will end up doing a Special Masters Program.

I'm leaning towards the career changer post bac since my school has no premed program at all. I don't have any guidance for applying to medical school and it has a drastically low medical school acceptance rate (~50%). All of the alumni I know who were pre-med are currently doing Special Masters Programs. So, I'm trying to figure out which pathway to take and I would love any and all advice!
I don't think it is necessarily bad that there is no premed program, many schools have no official pre-med major, you can major in anything and be fine as long as the prereqs are done. A pre-health advising service at your school is good to have but not having a pre-med major is not something to be alarmed over. Also, 50%...that's really good...I heard somewhere the average acceptance rate nationwide was in the 40's. I went to a really good undergraduate school and its acceptance rate to medical school was also in the 50's.