First Failed Exam (Chemistry)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Student2390

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’m a freshman majoring in biology hoping to go to med school or grad school. I just got an F on my second gen chem 1 exam, my first failed college exam. I got a C on the first one. My overall grade is a C because of the homework and there’s still 2 more exams left. I studied harder for this exam than the first and did way worse. I have all As up to this point, including in biology, statistics, and math, and have As in all my other classes currently. I feel like I studied as hard as I could, I started going to tutoring after I got my grade back, not sure how much it's going to help though. My GPA would still be pretty good even if I ended with a C, but do grad/med schools pay much attention to individual grades? Especially freshman classes? The withdrawal date is BEFORE the next exam, so unfortunately I can't wait to see how I do to decide if I want to drop. Should I withdraw or keep going? Study tips? Advice?

Another thing: I'm not sure if this professor drops an exam or not, but people on his rate my professors page say that he does, and my friends who have taken him before said that he did. So either he doesn't tell students he drops an exam, or he stopped doing it. Is it common for professors to drop an exam grade and not tell students about it? I'm definitely not going to ask him, he's not super nice and I don't want to draw attention to myself.

Members don't see this ad.

Not a single adcom will give a crap about an isolated C. And they'll be more understanding of some academic flubs now than when you're a senior and are expected to have the whole college thing figured out.

That said, it might be a good idea to withdraw now before you get to the point of no return. A W won't get factored into your AMCAS GPA, but a C will.