This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LOVE_Brains

Reaction score
Hi! I am a first-year PsyD student, and I am planning to transfer out of the program as I feel like I'm not gaining any value, especially given what I'm paying for tuition. I chose this particular program as I believed there would be some if not an equal opportunity to pursue research and access mentorship. However, there are close to no available avenues for research within the program, and the mentorship has not been easy to access either. The coursework is extremely high but not challenging, and rarely am I learning anything new or deepening my knowledge/skills.

I have been constantly thinking about changing programs and applying to Ph.D. programs that are more balanced. But I don't know if that would be possible, and what I should be doing to increase my chances of getting accepted. I am also looking for advice/suggestions on if there are other alternatives that I could look into.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello there,

Do you mind sharing what program is this?
PsyD degrees tend to end up being quite expensive if you don't have a tuition waiver, so I can understand wanting to get the best possible training you can get. When it comes to research and mentorship, is the barrier to access the size of the cohort? Or the lack of qualified faculty that actually do quality research? I guess what I'm trying to say is that as a first-year, if you have a pretty good sense you are not getting the quality of training you want, it's better to change programs sooner rather than slog through it.

The downside here is that depending where you are transferring to (and from), many of your earned credits and coursework won't transfer with you. Have you tried emailing the grad coordinators from other programs to see what would transfer, in the event you would be admitted there?