Focus on clinical hours or research for my EC’s?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mued->Doc

Reaction score
Hello everybody,

I wanted to get some advice on what y’all would focus in terms of EC’s to build the best application I can. Medical school is the goal for me, and I would be happy with getting into anywhere because I just really want to help people in the hardest of times, but I also want to shoot for the stars… call me a dreamer🤗.

Background:
I am a non-traditional pre-med student, and I have the opportunity to either work for a neuroscience research lab as an research assistant or as a behavioral tech for kiddos with ASD next school semester. I am continuing to finish my pre-reqs as a DIY post-back this next semester (physics, statistics) as a part time student. I would love to do both, but I am doubting that I’ll have enough time to do both. I’m also not in a rush to apply, I want to make sure I have my best application when I apply to maximize my chances for success.

I’ll give my current stats/background, then a pros and cons list.

Ethnicity/Background/Gender: Male East Asian
Undergrad: State School
cGPA: 4.0+ (probably like a 3.99 on application since you don’t get a bump for A+, and I got very few A-).
sGPA: 4.0+ (Again, probably like a 3.99, I got one A- in one science class).
NO MCAT
Pre-reqs left: Physics 1/2 + lab, stats
EC: Taught classroom music for 2+ years, taught kindergarten for 1 year, taught after-school music programs at low SES schools ~2 years, scribed for ~6 months (~200 hours), hospice volunteer (~10 hours, just started), reading in schools (~70 hours), chruch volunteer (~1000 hours, mentoring/music/community outreach), psychology research experience + 2nd author pub (~75 hours), gigging musician for 8+ years (easily + ~1000 hours)

Pros/Cons for Research Assistant
Pros
- Very supportive PI who wants to be a mentor to me