Future of Anesthesiologists

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ORjunkie16

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, im a college student currently taking pre med courses. I have always been interested in medicine and specifically anesthesiology because i like working with patients, being able to knownall kinds of diseases and diagnoses, being in the OR and the fact that Anesthesiologists get to participate in all kinds of surgeries anything from head to tow lol. Now, recently i have been searching and i found out that in some places the CRNA's are working independently, to the point that they are taking over an Anestheseiologist's job. Is this really happening? Im still in college and it will take 11 years for me to become an anesthesiologists if im successful but are they going to be replaced by CRNAs by then? I mean sure they have studied too but they have not taken the MCAT, never been to a Medical School and never had 4 years of residency. They get a 4 year degree, work for 1 year at the ICU or ER and then 2.5 years of anesthesia study so if you cross that one year of working at the ICU since its just working and not a residency, you are talking about only 6 and a half years of actually studying versus 12 to 13 years for a MD anesthesiologist. Dont get me wrong, they deserve to practice, but not to the point that they can replace a doctor and work without supervision. For example if **** hits the fan and the situation requires an actual MD level knowledge to respond to it, what are they going to do? it just annoys me so I want to know if i become an anesthesiologist after 13 years of kicking my own butt, i wont be able to get a job because an "advanced" nurse is going to take care of it for a lower cost? I would appreciate some responses. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Question is, what kind of fellowship are you keen on?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Reactions: 1 users