GPA question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vtraster

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I have an unusual background story for school and I wanted advice. I did four years of undergrad that went very badly about 10 years ago. I never received a degree and I left with a 2.06 gpa. It was after this I found my love of medicine and became and EMT and eventually a paramedic through a community college. I then decided to start over and got my associate of science from the college with a 3.2 gpa. I then transferred to a university where I graduated with my BS in Biology with a 3.55 gpa. I have worked as an emt for 2 years and a paramedic for 4. I have been doing clinical research with a doctor for two years and have been published. I also have 3 years of volunteer experience. However, given that my initial gpa was so low it doesn’t balance out. Do I have any chance of getting into a medical school? Any help or advice would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

What is your science GPA and cumulative GPA including the classes that contributed to your 2.06 gpa? Or does that 3.55 include those classes?

I have been having a hard time calculating them since I went to several different schools and have taken repeat courses.

Members don't see this ad :)
I have been having a hard time calculating them since I went to several different schools and have taken repeat courses.
Medical schools will take into consideration all of the classes you have taken at all schools, so calculating your sGPA/cGPS is step one to see how you will fair.

Reactions: 1 users
You basically count every class you've ever taken, including retakes.

I suspect it'll be below 3.0, which will be lethal. Likely your only hope is an SMP or similar, combined with a stellar MCAT.

Reactions: 1 user
Hi everyone,