This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DoctorJJJ

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a First Semester Freshman who is about to start up school again in 2 weeks, and I just got an email from my academic advisory saying that I need to retake Principles of Biology 1 in either this Summer or in the Fall Semester (Have a D+ while the grade to pass is a C-). Being from fresh from High School, I have never experienced doing so poorly in a class and been in this situation. Do you guys have any advice or information on how to go about this? I don't want this to bog down my performance 2nd Semester as it has affected me pretty bad mentally upon getting the news...

I also would like to add that I got a C on the concurrent Lab course for this class and was thinking whether I should retake this class also?

Members don't see this ad.

I am a First Semester Freshman who is about to start up school again in 2 weeks, and I just got an email from my academic advisory saying that I need to retake Principles of Biology 1 in either this Summer or in the Fall Semester (Have a D+ while the grade to pass is a C-). Being from fresh from High School, I have never experienced doing so poorly in a class and been in this situation. Do you guys have any advice or information on how to go about this? I don't want this to bog down my performance 2nd Semester as it has affected me pretty bad mentally upon getting the news...

I also would like to add that I got a C on the concurrent Lab course for this class and was thinking whether I should retake this class also?

I don’t know how it is at your school but at my school the retaken class and the taken class’ gpa quality points are averaged, so D+ and A makes I’m guessing B-. This does not replace the grade, it’ll just show up on the transcript as each respective grade.

Adcoms can be forgiving for the fresh/soph year as long as there is an upward swing.