Help along my quest to the white coat

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JJROD

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all. First post here. I am new to wanting to be a Doctor but not new to the medical field. I recently graduated with a BS degree in nuclear medicine technology (Board Certified) with a dual modality in CT imaging (taking boards soon). I have a 3.77 gpa, need to figure out my science. Taking o-chem 1 and 2 this year and have just started studying the biology section for the mcat. (plan to take it next summer or fall. definitely wont rush it). I am so new that I do not know how to chose a good school for me, realistically my chances of acceptance, where I should aim mcat score wise (highest possible, I know).
I have some shadowing experience with doctors, maybe 20 hours.
1300 hours of clinical in nuclear medicine
roughly a hundred + clinical hours in CT
working a full time job in CT at a level 1 trauma and stroke facility in Pittsburgh, PA
have around 60 or so hours of nonclinical volunteer work helping abused and neglected children.
Also, Capstone research in radiation expose levels in a restricted area.

I just want some advice. I have been noticing some awesome people on here giving the best advice they can and I figured I would take a shot asking. Please let me know what you guys think or what good schools may be for me. Thank you all.

Members don't see this ad.

Medical School Admission Requirements®