Quantcast

HELP: Vet Tech & Pre-Vet

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tuesday2019

Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
I'm currently a Sophomore Pre-Vet student that attends a private, four-year college with an extremely high tuition. I have been looking for ways to for school, make headway on some of my student loans, and support myself in the future. There is an online program through Penn Foster for Vet Tech that I have been considering. I have read multiple posts that talk about how it would not satisfy my vet school requirements but I still intend to stay enrolled in my college while taking the online classes in order to get my A.S. in Vet Tech. I have also read that it would look bad to admittance committees but I need a stable source of income but also the experience hours. Would it be worth it?

twelvetigers

stabby cat
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Why are you trying to do a vet tech school if you want to be a veterinarian? Pick one and pursue it. You don't need to be a registered tech to work in a vet clinic.

If you want to make things easier on yourself, transfer to a cheaper school. Seriously. The less debt you get now, the easier it will be to deal with the inevitable debt of vet school later.

tuesday2019

Reaction score
Why are you trying to do a vet tech school if you want to be a veterinarian? Pick one and pursue it. You don't need to be a registered tech to work in a vet clinic.

If you want to make things easier on yourself, transfer to a cheaper school. Seriously. The less debt you get now, the easier it will be to deal with the inevitable debt of vet school later.