How do medical schools check hobbies listed on AMCAS?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nevermore1

Reaction score
I am now an accepted student at an US medical school. In my AMCAS application, I listed free-diving as a hobby and mentioned I am a certified free-diver, but I was not certified until one week after I submitted the application. Before being certified, I mostly free-dived without certificate when i went on a boat trip with friends.

After reading threads about EC verification, I realized that I failed to delineate completed and future involvement. My intention here was not to lie, because I signed up for the free-diving certificate course/exam before submitting my application, and the end date of this hobby I put on AMCAS is months after date of submission. I am not sure if this will raise a red flag in case the medical school checks my hobby.

Members don't see this ad.

Paranoia will destroy ya.

Seriously, no one will know, or much less care.

Reactions: 6 users
Med school admissions have 500 better things to do than to cross reference your free diving certification. Take a deep breath, relax, and celebrate your med school acceptance.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I am now an accepted student at an US medical school. In my AMCAS application, I listed free-diving as a hobby and mentioned I am a certified free-diver, but I was not certified until one week after I submitted the application. Before being certified, I mostly free-dived without certificate when i went on a boat trip with friends.