This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Shruggs

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a freshman double majoring in Biochemistry (BA) and Music Performance (BM) and honestly I don't have any time at all to do anything, ever. I need more time because I commute (1.5hr commute one way) and I'm away from home roughly 14 hours a day, 3 times a week, and around 8-10 the other 3 days of the week (I'm at school 6 days a week).
I really enjoy music but I don't want to be a professional musician when I grow up. I have carpal tunnel, and I'm not exactly a "prodigy"; I started playing Viola in 5th grade and somehow got into the major out of pure luck. However, I feel like if I give up on my music major then I'll be giving up on myself and letting everyone down around me, especially my professor. She is so amazing and I don't want to give up on that relationship that's started to develop between us.
I was also considering doing music education instead of performance but IDK about that as well, because music ed is just as time consuming (but it would be a GREAT back-up for med, just in case I don't get in and I love working with students). I considered dropping my Biochemistry major but it's a degree I can earn through taking pre-reqs and like a couple extra science classes... One thing I do know is that I wouldn't want to solely be a Biochem major because if I don't go into medicine, I wouldn't be able to see myself working in a chem lab. What should I do? Should I change my major to Music Ed+Biochem, just Music Ed, or drop both majors and go into something completely different(?!)

Thank you so much for reading this post and sorry for rambling on about everything
Shruggs

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: