Internships & Residency for Internal Medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PellsBells93

OSU College of Veterinary Medicine Class of 2020!
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a third year vet student looking for advice on internships and residencies in internal medicine in academia vs private practice. What are the pros and cons? Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

First and most important is there are good programs in academics and private practice. So you really have to consider the specific program. But in general...

Academic program
Pros:
Tend to have structured seminars and oversight. They are already set up to teach students.
More research opportunities
Most are 501(c)(3) institutions and qualify for PSLF
Academic residencies may prefer applicants with academic internships because of teaching experience
Many don't require state license
Cons:
Potential competition between students and house officers for cases
Many are in smaller towns

Private practice programs
Pros:
Often busier with faster pace (lots of exceptions though)
Often in larger metropolitan areas
More programs to choose from (internships)
Salaries tend to be higher (but still suck)
Cons:
Lack of effective oversight for internships is important for smaller, less well known programs

Realize these are all generalities and there are plenty of exceptions.

William Thomas