J1 visa - International student doing PhD - postdoc / licensure

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chubbychops

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
I am an international student doing my Clin Psych PhD and about to start internship - I have a couple of questions regarding visas for postdocs and licensing - currently on a J1 and trying to figure out whether I am better off switching to an F1 or not. My internship will allow me to stay on a J1 but I'm worried that it will be difficult to get a clinical postdoc/unlicensed psych job for the year of supervised hours I will need for licensure in New York. I would have to switch sooner rather than later before my current visa expires next year. I would rather not switch to an F1 because my spouse cannot work on an F1, but will if i have to. I also would prefer a clinical postdoc/unlicensed job than a research one.
Have any of you international students got a clinical postdoc/unlicensed job on a J1 visa under Academic Training? And has anyone gone on to get licensed in the US on Academic Training on a J1 (some states require citizenship, but others don't) - I am open to getting licensed in stated other than new York. Would love to hear whether others have done this..
Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Hi, chubbychops! I can't answer your question, but your message reminded me of an email my DCT sent out a few days ago: the APAGS blog did a post on international students re:internship. Here it is: International Students and the Internship Process

Hope that helps! Good luck

Reactions: 1 users
Hi all,