This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

foxsocks

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys!

I'm just starting out in my quest to pursue medical school and I'm looking for advice/WAMC, hoping you all might be able to point out some things I'm overlooking or not aware that I need. Encouragement is also welcome!

Let it be known that I've thought/prayed/labored/sweated long and hard over this decision and I'm 100% sure I'm going to go for it - so we're beyond the "why not just do an NP program?" stage :)

About me:
  • Single, no kids, 24 years old.
  • Graduated from a BSN program in 2015 and have been working as an RN full time in a major women's hospital since then. Never planned on medicine, wasn't thinking of RN as a "bridge to MD" or a fallback. Graduated w/ 3.7 GPA and around a 3.45 science GPA (Nursing students don't take that many science classes and most of them were as a freshman - I have much better study habits now!)
  • I've worked on a postpartum unit for the past 2+ years and am scheduled to cross train to GYN/SURG in the coming months. (Side note: I've read many RN to MD posts on here and never seen another PP nurse. I am well aware that PP has a reputation for being, shall I say... lame, but I am happy to elaborate on how I ended up there and why it's been great clinical/leadership experience for me).
  • Currently taking Cell Bio at a local state school, the first pre-med class I've taken. I have the rest of the pre-reqs mapped out and I'm estimating it will take 2-3 years for me to complete them. I wanted to ease my way in by taking 1 class first because I have to keep working full-time the entire time I take my pre-reqs.