Quantcast

low gpa, potentially high MCAT, probability of acceptance?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
Hello everyone,

So I am planning to take my mcat this april and have taken a few practice tests scoring above a 508 each time and have been getting better each time. I have volunteered with various societies in cancer research, have about 2 years of lab experience, can speak 3 languages fluently, volunteering regularly at a hospital where I feel like I can get a very very strong letter of recommendation, am self taught in various programming languages and am developing a company that provides medical literacy internationally.

My issue is all based on my undergrad GPA where I have a 3.02 gpa overall and a 2.82 science gpa. I took a class at a different university (ivy league) during a summer and got a high A where it was all graduate students which helped. I took a year off to reflect, and during my year off I've traveled and lost a lot of weight and just become a much better version of myself. I realized that my gpa being so low was because I went to a crappy university and I hate to say that. How can I be honest when it sounds like a cop out to blame my university even though it's the only conclusion I can come to? Can someone offer genuine advice?

Thank you for your time and sorry about the length!

Dr.Kitty

Hissing in lecture, purring by lunch
2+ Year Member
Reaction score