MD & DO Low stats, honest advice please.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BlueBalloon

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

So I'm currently having a mental breakdown because I think I majorly screwed up my chances for med school. I graduated with a BA in Biochemistry and BS in Molecular & Cellular Biology. I graduated early, in 3 years instead of 4 (most people advised me to graduate rather than stay.) My cumulative GPA is 3.49 and my BCPM GPA is 3.36. I'm so disappointed and frustrated with myself because I let myself slip in my last semester and missed the cum laude and honors accreditation by dropping 0.01 points in my GPA. I wrote an honors thesis for the honors college at my school, which I thought would be a good addition to my app but now all my work for it is gone. I will be taking a gap year to gain more clinical experience/shadowing. I will also apply to work at a hospital to gain more clinical experience, as a rehab assistant.

For my GPA, I feel like it could be attributed to many reasons. The number one main reason is that I should have worked harder. I'm hesitant to say this, but looking back, I think I had a lot of depressive episodes where I just felt demotivated and horrible, and let my grades slip as a result. I don't think the admissions board will accept this, which is understandable, but I truly think this did play a big part. Especially after my low score on the MCAT, I just felt inferior to everyone. Another reason is that my grandma's health has been declining with dementia and I took a couple short trips to see her. My father was also unemployed for a large part of my undergraduate years (I live at home), and the financial instability further contributed to my stress.

For more background info:

I live in Arizona