This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

UCDavispremed92

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Thanks in advance for any input. This post may initially come off as a bit self-involved, but that is just to provide context for a little-articulated issue that I suspect effects many (often extremely successful) pre-med students. In particular, I refer to those students whose approach as undergraduates was largely (or even primarily) informed by their fear of failure and for whom that fear is never more pronounced than as they approach the MCAT.

CONTEXT

I graduated from UC Davis in the spring and would seem to be a strong prospective applicant for med school. Brief overview:

- 3.88 sGPA, 3.95 cGPA
- 2 years of research
- 9 months as ER tech (EMT-certified)
- 3 months as healthcare policy analyst intern for major healthcare lobbying group in Sacramento
- 5 weeks of clinical work in South Africa (same area as research)
- 1 year of clinical work in undergraduate university-associated rural clinic
Current:
- ER scribe
- Continuing research

OUTLOOK

I would attribute my academic success to being highly strategic and risk-averse. I majored in political science (a topic that is exceedingly easy for me as I enjoy writing and the subject matter) and made an effort to bridge it to medicine through some healthcare policy work. I never took more than 3 courses a quarter (did 2 a couple times), compensating with summer school, though taking 5 years to graduate.

This is why the MCAT terrifies me. A single test of importance comparable to the whole of my carefully-crafted academic career - what more is there to say?

I'm taking the MCAT in spring (~April) to apply next cycle - I was never going to prepare for it while focusing on my coursework. Currently I'm doing a little part-time work as an ER scribe as well as a little continued involvement remotely with the undergraduate professor whose lab I was a part of as a student.