Need Advice - Non-competitive PM&R DO vs MD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DO_Girl

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

This is my first time posting to this site and I'm looking for some help. Due to my inability to perform well on exams (which I just discovered in medical school - yay) I am unfortunately a very non-competitive applicant for residency. I was falling behind in my first term of first year, and had to take a LOA. I returned to perform average in my class, but then failed COMLEX Level 1 with a 383. I was devastated and defeated, but worked my butt off to pass the second time, which I did.... barely (got a 401. I know, ouch). Passed Level 2 on my first attempt with a 423.

I am now about to start applying for auditions and the 2017 residency cycle and I don't really know what to do. I am interested in PM&R, but don't know if I should even spend my electives auditioning for them if I don't have a chance. And if I do have a chance, should I go DO or MD? I know DO applicants tend to have a better chance getting into DO programs, but there's waayyyyy more MD residencies for PM&R than DO.

Thank you in advance for your help everyone!

Members don't see this ad.

I think that you are going to struggle to get invites in ACGME PM&R. Unless you have something on your application you aren't telling us, you will likely end up with less than 5 invites...and then you will have to decide whether or not to try for DO PM&R or risk matching in the NRMP match.