MD & DO Non-traditional 2.91 B.S. GPA, 3.9 M.S. GPA, 515 MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kem9621

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Short Story:
Nontraditional applicant
2.91 B.S. Biomedical Engineering GPA
3.9 M.S Statistics GPA
Significant shadowing/volunteer experience in undergrad but that was 5+ years ago.
No recent volunteer or shadowing experience.
Extensive Research Background - several conference abstracts, two pending papers, one to be submitted to NEJM in a few months.
Strong LOR
515 (94 percentile) MCAT

Unsure if I should apply this cycle or do post-bacc work for the next year. Fine with DO route.

What are my chances/what should I do to strengthen my application?

Long story:
I graduated in 2013 with a B.S. in Biomedical Engineering at a top 10 university. My GPA was 2.91 and my science GPA is 2.87. My first few semesters of undergrad were really strong, academically. I volunteered regularly, did volunteer research for 10 hours a week, and did an MD shadowing program. Then due to a combination of financial, family and maturity problems my grades tanked and at one point I withdrew from classes for a semester. When I went back my grades gradually increased to the 3.3 GPA level. I did research for several years and presented a few posters at conferences.

When I graduated I went to work for a medical device company as a clinical data analyst for 4 years. I worked on a major clinical trial and had some minor shadowing experiences with surgeons. I co-authored a few conference abstracts and podium presentations, including some that won awards. I also coauthored two papers that are under review right now at mid-tier journals and they will most likely be accepted and e-published by summer. The surgeons I worked with are very highly renown professors within their field and a couple of them would write me LORs.