This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Charzola

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm looking to get some honest feedback regarding my chances (in the forum's collective view) of getting into a decent MD program given my particular situation. Suggestions are greatly appreciated.

I have my undergrad degree in Finance and graduated 3 years ago. I've been working full-time since Sophomore year, bought a house, and also started and juggled two successful construction businesses in order to provide for my family. I was unable to go the Premed route due to time constraints and the concern that I would be unable to get decent grades in the sciences with this heavy of a workload, and would likely never be able to dedicate a healthy amount of time to the MCAT and the application. Rather than risk getting relatively poor pre-req grades while being overworked with life, I chose Finance as as a way to give myself a leg up when it comes to money - with the hope that I could put myself in a financially-favorable situation and return to complete my pre-reqs one day and dedicate myself fully. At the very least, I would have my experience and degree as a Plan B should the MD path be inaccessible, and can then go the MBA route instead if need be.

Thankfully, the hard work has paid off and I am now in a position to dedicate myself once again to complete what I originally wanted to do without concern for distractions. I recently began taking my pre-req classes in order to apply to an MD program in 2018 (for 2019 admission). I have several out of the way already, but need to knock out one semester of Bio/Phys and both semesters of O-Chem.