NSU vs KCU

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

futuredoc.77

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am fortunate enough to shortlist my acceptances to NSU and KCU, but am having a hard time deciding between the two. Please give me your humble opinions. THANKS!

Please consider the following categories:
- Curriculum
- Board Prep
- Rotations
- Specialty residency placement

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I am fortunate enough to shortlist my acceptances to NSU and KCU, but am having a hard time deciding between the two. Please give me your humble opinions. THANKS!

- Being a Cali resident, I would love to eventually rotate and practice in Cali
- I am leaning towards Internal Med Subspecialties and Surgical Specialties

Please consider the following categories:
- Curriculum
- Board Prep
- Rotations
- Specialty residency placement

NSU pro:
- accustomed to the weather
- good research affiliations

NSU con:
- First year curriculum seems disorganized
- have not heard wonders about the board prep

KCU pro:
- very strong curriculum
- board scores are better than NSU
- very good board prep

KCU con:
- never lived in cold snowy weather
- strong curriculum, but met people complaining of the curriculum on interview day

You really can't go wrong with either place. First is cost and second is location. NSU is slightly more expensive. Not terrible. NSU is also more suburban and KCU is more urban if you have a preference. But overall I think these schools are about equivalent and would personally pick based on location. The curriculum was disorganized at NSU this year due to an anatomy lab mishap but that shouldn't be a problem next year.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
OP, take my advice with a grain of salt.
- Being a Cali resident, I would love to eventually rotate and practice in Cali
- I am leaning towards Internal Med Subspecialties and Surgical Specialties

NSU pro: