Nursing vs. the life-consuming medical lifestyle

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

catchingthedream

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a nursing student in my first semester. Nursing is so boring and I can't stand the lack of science in the curriculum. I guess I didn't understand that in nursing school I wouldn't be learning anything NEAR what people learn in medical school besides vital signs and such. Maybe due to some of the science prerequisites I figured it would have to do more with science. But I seem to be mistaken and now I am obsessed with wanting to learn what med students learn. and I want to learn everything about the body down to the molecular level, but I am so conflicted because I don't know if I could deal with residency and the rigors of being a doctor including the 80hr+ work weeks until I retire, night shifts, no time for family, huge loans, etc. I feel like I would be one of those people that get's burnt out and stressed often, and that's no way to live life. It seems that the main reason I would go to medical school- is just for that. Medical school. Learning biochemistry, histology, and all of the science behind diseases. It's so intriguing. I'm sure I would love being a doctor as well, but I dread residency and fellowship because it takes up all of your time, I hear miserable stories, and I won't be able to have kids until my 30s! Even then, how am I going to raise very young children if I'm a doctor working 80+/hrs a week? I'm struggling so hard right now to decide which path to take. Does anyone have any advice for me? Should I consider a biomed major instead or in addition to nursing? I'm having trouble finding anything nearly equivalent to med school except maybe biomed or a PA program. I just have this insatiable desire to learn medicine and science.