This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aceyouroat1

Reaction score
Hi All,

I took my oat exam today and did well! - I read some posts before my exam that were helpful so I decided to write one too.

I would like to share some helpful tips that I discovered along the way and some advice based on my personal experience. It might work for you and it might not. One big advice, I started studying late, I would suggest to start studying as soon as possible especially for biology and math, as both are easy but you need a lot of practice.

1. Do not take the kaplan full length course if you like to study on your own pace. I took their on pace course and sort of wasted my money as the videos are not helpful at all. They only go over the basics and the quizzes after the sessions are related to the material covered in lectures. You take the class and feel like you know it all, in reality they only cover the basics. It is better to study on your own through other resources and just purchase the kaplan practice tests package and save your money!!! I did not know they had the option of just buying the practice tests.

2. BIO: OAT destroyer is GREAT for bio and Orgoman Bio notes are also helpful, just read through them and then use the destroyer to practice, there were a lot of concepts that I saw on my exam that were only covered in the OAT destroyer they were not anywhere else.

3. Math: The destroyer is also good for Math, really helps you to practice your skills -- kaplan is good too! I saw some graphs evaluation questions and other types of problems that were covered in the destroyer.

4. Orgo and Chem: I personally did not like the orgo and chem section of the destroyer, I suggest watching Chad's free videos on Chem Prep (FREEE and amazing!!) and then using Defeat the Dat for orgo and chem for practice, there are TONS OF FREE QUIZZES and PRACTICE TESTS