Sep 25, 2015
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
Hello I was wondering if anyone could give me some insight into my odds of getting into medical school this year.

GPA: 3.82
Science GPA: 3.71

MCAT: 499
Phys = 126
Soc = 126
CARS = 124
Bio = 123

Volunteering/Shadowing:
40 hours job shadowing a neurosurgeon
15 hours volunteering at homeless shelter
170 hours of microbiology lab TA

I realize my MCAT score and volunteering are severely lacking, but I would like a realistic idea of what to expect. I stressed in my secondaries that I am a first generation college student and I explained the obstacles that I had to overcome as a single mother to a special needs child. I also received the FAP.

I applied to:

Irving- Haven't heard from

Stanford- Working on Secondary
Arizona- Working on Secondary
Howard- Working on Secondary
Creighton- Working on Secondary

Hofstra- Submitted Secondary
LLUSM-Submitted Secondary
Case Western- Submitted Secondary
OHSU-Submitted Secondary
Keck-Submitted Secondary
UW-Submitted Secondary

UMKC- Rejected
University of Nebraska- Rejected
Indiana-Rejected
Meharry- Rejected

I am a Washington resident and I am reluctant to retake the MCAT because I have a hard time with biochemistry and I'm not sure if my score would improve. I plan on applying to D.O. schools as soon as I get a letter of recommendation from a physician. I have also been interviewed for a position at 2 different scribe companies, so that I can strengthen my application. I should be working as a scribe within the month. I am also scheduling to volunteer at my church to feed the homeless. I would love to hear any and all suggestions to help improve my application. My GPA is on point and I think my backstory is empowering, the other half (MCAT and volunteering) is mediocre at best.

Thank you for your insight/suggestions!

ChrisMack390

2+ Year Member
Jan 15, 2015
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student (Accepted)