PhD/PsyD Ohio Jurisprudence/Licensure Exam

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

emilyfromcolumbus

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am studying for the Ohio jurisprudence exam (I take it on July 18th). I have been told to essentially "memorize" the entire manual they provide (39 pages). Has anyone taken the test recently who can speak about the difficulty of the questions? Or, the types of questions they might ask? For instance, will they ask me to list all 20 items under the heading "Requirements for psychological work supervision and psychological training supervision”? I do not think it is feasible to literally memorize 39 pages of information so I am looking for any and all advice regarding this process. Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Just read it through a few times. Jurisprudence exams are typically just a check to make sure that you at least know the basics of state laws as they pertain to psychologists. They are generally much easier than the EPPP, which is already pretty easy.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
The PsyDr Jurisprudence Study Guide:

1) Take a brief read through on the state's study materials.
2) When in doubt, the answers are"don't sleep with your patients", "never defraud an insurance company", and "never lie to the board".
3) Learn record keeping, child disclosure laws, what to do about informed consent when there's shared custody, duty to warn, abuse reporting, CE requirements, scope of practice stuff, and hospital admitting stuff if applicable in your state Should take about 45-60minuntes.
4) Now, go hit your head against a wall for a while. Drink heavily, preferably using cheap and sugary alcohols. Watch "the big bang theory" followed by "CSI". Do whatever it takes to lower your intelligence level. These tests are written by state employees. Overthinking this crap is where they could get you.