This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Champ17

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've recently been accepted to both Michigan and Penn. I'm a Michigan resident and even received Michigan's scholarship, so financially I feel like I should attend Michigan. However, my interview at Penn was amazing and I fell in love with the school. I'm not sure if all that extra debt is worth attending an Ivy League school. I've also heard that Michigan is overrated, even though they're ranked #1. But I've also heard from a dentist that I shouldn't rule out my acceptance to Case Western. Just wondering if anyone has any advice for me before I make this huge decision :help:

Members don't see this ad.

If it was me, I would pick Michigan. You’ll be saving a lot of money. I also heard you get to see patients in your 2nd year, no other dental school can offer that I believe.

Reactions: 1 user
What are your goals?

I'm not 100% sure, but I could definitely see myself wanting to specialize. Its so hard to tell now though, like I've had the opportunity to shadow some specialties, but how do I know I want to specialize without actually trying it first? Ahhh I just feel so confused! I know Penn has a high match rate for specialities, but I'm not sure how much that should weigh into my final decision.

Members don't see this ad :)
Easy - take your acceptance to Michigan and run with it! A terrific school where you'll get an excellent education.

Michigan had been my dream school and my goal since freshman year! But after my Penn interview I started second guessing myself. And now this dentist, who graduated from Detroit Mercy, thinks that I should consider Case Western over both Penn and Michigan! Maybe I should just go with my gut though...

Always go with your gut. The fact that Michigan is a great school and it's in-state should be a no-brainer. UM is the cheapest, right?